Enter your number to get our free mobile app

Governor Greg Abbott has issued a near-statewide order for Texas - wear your face mask.  The official order requires "all Texans to wear a face covering over the nose and mouth in public spaces in counties with 20 or more positive COVID-19 cases, with few exceptions.”

According to the ArkLaTex Homepage, the penalty for violations of this order will come in the form of fines of up to $250.  There will be exceptions for medical conditions or disabilities, outdoor exercise like jogging, for religious reasons,or for voting.  This new order also gives county authorities the ability to ban outdoor gatherings of more than 10 people.

In a statement, the Texas Governor made a point to announce that "...wearing a mask is a proven method to slowing down the virus’ spread."  He also said that if Texans comply with this order, "more extreme measures may be avoided."

This move comes after the Lone Star State hit a record for COVID-19 cases in the state, topping more than 164,000 on Tuesday and adding more than 5,000 new cases to the total every day for 21 days straight.